A New Understanding of…Yeast

 Be careful,” Jesus said to them. “Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” Matthew 6:16

Malachi sleeping amongst some of the many remedies for thrush we have tried

Who knew? Who knew that something SO tiny could consume my every waking moment, as for FOUR weeks  now Malachi and I have been battling thrush with ointments, pills, solutions, cleanses, major diet restrictions, not to mention all the pots of boiling water to sterilize everything, hundreds of loads of laundry, scrubbing everything we touch and toting tons of items out to sit in the sunshine for hours.  We spent two of those weeks pumping, then feeding, then sterilizing everything involved, in an attempt to keep us from passing it back and forth to one another. I have researched every remedy known to man as to how to get rid of this thrush and more importantly the yeast overgrowth that causes it.  I have an all-new understanding of yeast.

This yeast was always there, but it multiplied when my immune system was weak, and once it had taken hold it manifested itself in excruciating pain.

It is so subtle and undetected by the naked eye.  It grows, ever growing, and the place it proliferates is in the dark and damp, those hidden places.

Eat certain foods and the yeast feasts on it, growing profusely.  Abstain from those foods and you gradually starve it to death.

Yeast hates sunlight, because its the opposite of what it needs to grow.

As, day in and day out, we have battled this thrush in our home, I have received a deeper appreciation for the Bible’s mention of it.

Yeast, or lack there-of, in the Old Testament, was cause for an an entire week’s worth of celebration following the Passover each year. To celebrate this “Feast of Unleavened Bread”, one had to entirely rid one’s home of yeast (and this is NO easy chore, as I’ve been laboring for four weeks to do so) and then spend the week of feasting without the yeast as any part of the meals. The whole week was a physical representation of being cleansed and rid of that which is unwanted.

Then again, in the New Testament, in Jesus’ warning to his disciples to “beware of the yeast of the Pharisees which is hypocrisy” Luke 12:1 we continue to see that yeast is bad, unwanted, to be rid of and be cautious of.

  Yeast is sin.

And I have thrush of the soul.

The sin of hypocrisy-of being self-sufficient, self-dependent, self-absorbed, and self-righteous, being a God-hater because I want to be god of my own life, can be harbored in my heart, undetected by the naked eye of the soul.

But then when I am weak and vulnerable, just as my immune system was a month ago, it opens up a place for that sin to grab a foothold. It grows subtly in the dark, hidden places, the places unexposed to Sonlight.  It multiplies and multiplies, until I am so infected, it manifests itself in excruciating pain.

For the yeast of my heart, hurts me, my walk with God, my relationships with those around me, my community, the world. I am a source of the infection of sin that so ransacks the brokenness of this planet. It is not just my individual battle, all I come in contact with are exposed to it.

And just as my physical diet has been greatly restricted these past four weeks, my spiritual diet can starve it…or feed it.

So, in an effort to starve that sinful nature, and feast upon that which fights it, I fix my eyes on The Feast of the Unleavened Bread, which gives me a beautiful preview of what Jesus, the Son, would do to kill this rampant infection of my soul.  The yeast was not cleared from the home until the day AFTER the Passover. First I need the Passover, then the cleansing can occur. Jesus, the perfect Passover Lamb, was slaughtered, that the judgement of God might pass over me, and be taken by His Son. After the sacrifice, the cleaning happens.  My sin is no longer my own.  It has been dealt with, paid for, cleared by Jesus. And now I can enjoy the feasting of life with Him, free of this yeast of my soul because He has done the cleansing. All that being “self-sufficient, self-dependent, self-absorbed, and self-righteous, being a God-hater because I want to be god of my own life”, can be starved and exposed to Sonlight because of Jesus’ death and resurrected Life made available to me.  That life now lives IN me, and as I invite Him into the hidden, dark places of my heart and life, His Light makes it incompatible to sin’s harboring and growth.

So, Sweet Jesus, let your Light shine in me, killing off the thrush of my soul.

Jesus, let your Light shine through me, killing, little by little, the thrush of this world.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Summer Bullet List « …to the least of these…

Leave a Reply

