The Lowest and Highest of Callings

“Who is the greatest?”

His friends asked him the question…the same question we ask, here, two thousand years later. Why?

Because we all long to be great….at least great at something.

Great at blogging. Great at networking. Great at cooking. Great at eating organically. Great at mothering. Great at leading Bible studies. Great at homeschooling. Great at a career. Great at homemaking. Great at juggling more than the next stay-at-home mom. (and if I didn’t have so many little interruptions all day, I COULD be really great at those things!)

To be great is to be recognized as being something.

But to be a Christian is to lose that striving after being great in order to be something, because Jesus has already been Great Enough, and His Greatness, wins us the status of being great- in God’s eyes.

And Jesus’ answer to those…to us…foolish friends of His, flies in the face of every standard of greatness that our culture screams at us.

He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.” Matthew 18:2-5

So as a stay work-at-home mom, I have the awesome privilege of working daily, with those that Christ has given us as the model of greatness. I get to witness the greatness daily, hourly. And what does it look like?

messiness,

playfulness,

selfishness,

dependence,

nearsightedness,

joyfulness,

neediness

care-freeness

So, if I want to be great…I am to look like THAT?!?

If I like it or not, having five little souls thrust into my life to shepherd and to raise, often makes me look

EXACTLY like that.

For this seemingly low calling of changing diapers, and scrubbing behind-mommy’s-back-nail-polish stains out of the carpet, and holding whiny two year olds WHILE trying to get dinner on the table for everyone, and no-REM-cycle nights when ALL the kids take turns waking up to need something, and cleaning up what I just cleaned 30 minutes ago, and teetering piles of laundry beckoning my attention, and refereeing who gets to play with what….

just seems so lowly.

and insignificant.

and it makes me incredibly

messy

selfish

dependent

and nearsighted

But in an upside-down-Kingdom, where the King Himself enters in to neediness, becoming needy himself in a human body and dealing with neediness-doing His fair share of cleaning up messes, and refereeing fights, and feeding lots of people , and hardly ever having a minute to himself, it is NOT so lowly.

Because Jesus has declared that the people whom I get to work with, as a mother of five little ones,

are the greatest in the Kingdom.

And I get to be with them, day in and day out, 24/7.

And that is what I call a

HIGH calling.

20130425-205433.jpg

20130425-205517.jpg

20130425-205538.jpg

20130425-205605.jpg

20130425-205614.jpg

20130425-205629.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Blessed incubation | ...to the least of these...
  2. Stacey Thacker (@stacey29lincoln)
    May 18, 2013 @ 12:45:48

    I read this passage recently and it hung in my heart as I thought through the same things. So beautiful to think He was speaking to our hearts too when He drew the children close to Him that day!

    Blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

