How to be where Jesus is….part 2

OpenBible

I opened it up, and it pierced, as it always does. Pierces right down to the core, the place where darkness can be festering…pride, hoping in things other than the Savior, praise of men…

and I knew what I needed to do, and I wrestled with God over the piercing, for I want to be a voice for people like Patricia, but more importantly,

I want to be obedient.

So instead of a crazy story that Jesus led me into on Saturday night, I type out words far more important. And I take down words spoken by a mere person, and post words spoken by the Humble King.

“Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them,

for then you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven.

Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you (post no blog post),

as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others.

Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward.

But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing,

so that your giving may be in secret.

And your Father who sees in secret will reward you. “

Matthew 6:1-4

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Krystal
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 17:42:02

    I read your first post about Patricia. Knowing you and your heart–I did not feel you were boasting. It is encouraging to hear what God is allowing you to be a part of. I just finished studying the sermon on the mount. Your story actually challenged me to live more filled with the Holy Spirit. Going the second mile. The blessing that comes with obedience. I praise God as he shines his light through you.

    Reply

    • kimzhis
      Oct 31, 2013 @ 14:41:22

      Hey Krystal, Thank you for your encouraging words…you’re right, I didn’t originally write the post about Patricia to be boasting, more because my heart hurts for the Patricia’s of our world. I want to be a voice for people like her. BUT for some reason I felt really convicted to take it down for now. I want to ever be obeying the promptings of the Holy Spirit….whether that be in reaching out to a naked crazy lady, or taking down a blog post that might bring me glory, rather than the Father. Maybe in the future He’ll prompt me to put it back up again. But for now, I just want to obey in the little things! Thank you, though, for you words of affirmation! and for even reading my blog 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: How to be where Jesus is…. | ...to the least of these...

Leave a Reply

